For a comprehensive guide on how to get your marriage license, visit www.usmarriagelaws.com for more information
Before any authorized person shall solemnize any marriage, he shall require of the parties a marriage license issued according to the requirements of Florida Statute 741.01, and within 10 days after solemnizing the marriage he shall make a certificate thereof on the license, and shall transmit the same to the office of the county judge or clerk of the circuit court from which it issued. Only the couple may purchase copies of the marriage license and must present valid picture identification together with the required fee to the County Clerk in order to do so. Persons other than the married couple requesting copies of a confidential marriage license may only do so by presenting a court order to the County Clerk in the county where the license is registered. • Where To Apply: Applicants who are State of Wisconsin residents, are required to apply for a marriage license in the county one of the parties has resided in for at least 30 days prior to making application. If a certified copy of the marriage is required, it may be obtained from the office of the clerk of court who issued the license (contact the court for the cost) or from the Virginia Office of Vital Records in Richmond, Virginia, for a fee of $12.00 for each copy.
In the State of Texas, to apply for a marriage license, per Texas Family Code Section 2.002 each person applying for license must appear before the county clerk; submit proof of identity and age as provided by Section 2.005(b) (typically a current Driver’s license and social security card); if a Foreign Birth certificate is used, it must be a certified copy and have a certified translation to English attached; provide the information applicable to that person in the application; take the oath printed on the application and sign the application before the county clerk. The Marriage License Division of the Wagoner County Court Clerk’s Office is located on the first floor of the Wagoner County Courthouse, 307 E. Cherokee, Wagoner, OK. To apply for a marriage license both parties need to be present at the Court Clerk’s Office between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Certified copies of marriage licenses issued by the Arlington County Circuit Court can be obtained in person, or through the mail from the Clerk’s office.
It is unlawful for any county court judge or clerk of the circuit court in the state to send out of his office any marriage license signed in blank to be issued upon application to persons not in the office of the county judge or clerk of the circuit court. After the ceremony, the person who performed the ceremony returns the certificate of marriage, signed with the title of the authorized official who performs the marriage, to the clerk of the court issuing the license within 5 days to be recorded in the county or city records. The Marriage License Division of the Tulsa County Court Clerk’s Office is located on the second floor of the Tulsa County Courthouse, 500 S. Denver, Tulsa, OK. To apply for a marriage license both parties need to be present at the Court Clerk’s Office between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
If the applicants to be married do not live in Montgomery County and are unable to appear in person to apply, they may apply for a marriage license using a Non-Resident Marriage Application (PDF) Both applicants need to appear in person at the Marriage License Office to sign the marriage license application and present a valid driver’s license or another government issued id. Deputy clerks can perform a civil marriage ceremony; the fee is $30.00. Please note our office cannot perform the marriage at the time the license is obtained if the three-day waiting period applies.
The marriage license application fee is $45.00 (this fee will be waived if the applicant’s’ original DC Domestic Partnership Certificate and is presented at the time of application). The license is good immediately upon issuance and is valid for 60 days; thus applicants should not apply for a license more than sixty days before the planned marriage ceremony. To complete an application for a marriage license, one or both spouses must appear in person at a courthouse, city hall, or town office and sign the marriage license application in the presence of the clerk (along with payment of a fee).
The clergy, minister or other person officiating at the marriage ceremony must complete and sign both forms of marriage license and forward both forms to the Clerk of the Court who issued the license within 5 days after the ceremony is performed.